Skip to content

just do it

April 30, 2013

if you are ever staring at your computer screen blankly, wondering to yourself “should i register for the lottery for a nike women’s half marathon?” the answer is always yes.  unless you are a man.  then the answer is no, you loser, why would you enter a women’s race?  get your own!  but, if you are a woman and a person who thinks about running long distances for fun and questioning whether to plunk down the $160 entrance fee for a nike half marathon, then i say just do it.

here’s why:

  • nike does not do anything half way (no pun intended).  thankfully this was a half marathon, but it was a full on experience.  from the expotique with bubbling fountains of nuun to the giant wall of the inaugural runners’ names on the side of the nike store in georgetown, this race was the slickest, sleekest of them all.

    is there a more scenic start line in all the free world?

  • the energy was palpable.  the volunteers and nike staff were helpful, smiley and enthusiastic.  the entire weekend of the race i felt like an olympic athlete.  more on that later!
  • enough port-o-pottys.  enough said.
  • they employed teeny-tiny twitter elves to become my virtual bff’s.  every time i tweeted at nike, which was multiple times, i received a peppy and prompt response.  #impressive
  • the swag.  i got a commemorative tiffany’s necklace as my race “medal.”  the finisher t-shirt is super cool.  and i’m fully stocked on luna bars thanks to the expo.
  • because i love to run.  it’s kinda my thing.  and it makes me proud and less neurotic and a little more neurotic.  i’m lucky that i get to share my passion with others, like my friends and my lil track super stars.  so i had my track kids sign my bib number to commemorate my accomplishment…and theirs too!IMG_1510
  • i beat olympians.  yes, you read that right.  nike brought in american running royalty for the race…and then they actually ran the whole thing…and weren’t divas about it.  my girl crush shalane flanagan and legend joan benoit samuelson joined the pack and allowed a few of us finishers the honor/bragging rights of saying we beat shalane and joan to the finish.  i’m adding it to my resume… 
  • because i hosted the most festive, fun, friend-filled brunch post race.  i had a great run but more than that, i had a great sunday.  with champagne and french toast cupcakes and friends.  and as a runner and a girl, i couldn’t ask for more.
    IMG_1521

    runner buddies…

    IMG_1522

    and brunch!

images via nike.com

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2013 3:19 pm

    Any tips for people trying to build up to a half? I just did my first 10k this past weekend and while I know it will be a ways off I my goal is to eventually get up to a half.

    • May 1, 2013 12:31 am

      there are some great training programs out there- i use hal higdon’s plans religiously. but really I think the key is having a fun race, some good friends as training partners and snazzy tunes on your iPod.

  2. April 30, 2013 5:22 pm

    Awesome race, I loved it too! I just did a race recap where I complained about the shortage of portapotties so it was funny to read your comment that there were enough. I thought there were plenty near the start but on the course not enough! 🙂 Congrats!!!

    • ratzrow permalink*
      May 1, 2013 12:33 am

      haha. i didn’t notice any along the course now that you mention it- but yes, plenty at the start. thank goodness!

Leave a Reply

