Skip to content

mistaken

January 18, 2013

i fell asleep with the tv tuned to the lance armstrong/oprah interview last night and woke up to a diet pill infomercial around 3:30 a.m.  fitting, i suppose.  i tuned in last night to watch a train wreck.  i tuned in to see a fall from grace.  and i admit, i tuned in last night to gawk at a beloved biker’s unraveling.  though lance seemed genuinely nervous, as he fidgeted around in his chair, he didn’t seem particularly broken up over the fact that millions of viewers were watching him fall apart.  he was matter of fact, calculated and cold.

contrast that with the most awkward and downright sad meeting i’ve had since i started my new job.  one of my seniors made a mistake and has to fess up to all the colleges he’s applied to.  so i called him into my office so we could strategize.  he didn’t lift his head the entirety of our 4 minute meeting.  no smiles, not a single second of eye contact, he didn’t even move in his chair.  he just sat there.  sad and wounded and scared and humbled.

this is what i expected from lance.  for someone who has much more to lose than my scared student, i would expect much more shame and guilt.  that is what i expected, but it’s not what i found.  so i offered my student some candy from my newly restocked stash.  unfortunately, all i have for lance is my disappointment.

One Comment leave one →
  1. notorious permalink
    January 18, 2013 3:39 pm

    I wish I could say I am shocked or disappointed with Lance but I am neither. I never liked him or his silly wrist bands. Our country should spend its time and resources on people that matter. He is where he should be, on the train to obscurity. Rock on…only 6 months to the start of Packers training camp. –Notorious

Leave a Reply

