Skip to content

in the end, at the beginning

December 31, 2012

dear 2012,

we’ve had our moments, you and me.  we’ve had our ups and we’ve had our downs and then we’ve had our fall down the stairs.  we’ve celebrated and laughed and i’ve even danced the funky chicken {most times when i’m alone in my kitchen} but we’ve also shed a few tears on those there pillowcases.  good thing is, those tears weren’t anything that couldn’t be fixed with a new apartment or a new pair of shoes or a trot around the neighborhood.  or a face full of reese’s peanut butter cups.  those problems, those tears…small fries.

i thought you were going to be different.  last year at this time, i had a sparkly dress hanging in my closet and a boy who was hanging around.  i danced the funky chicken at a bar as i celebrated a new year, 2012.  i had high hopes and glitter in my shoes and a dozen champagne cupcakes in my portable cupcake carrier.  i thought you were going to be different.  but in the end everything is the same.

i have a new sparkly dress hanging in my closet and i may have danced a little bit of the funky chicken in my kitchen last night.  i’m ready to celebrate and laugh and shed some tears if need be.  we’ve had our moments, you and me.  but 2012 you’re so over.

so bring on the glitter and hand me my portable cupcake carrier.  i’ve got a bus to new york city to catch and high hopes in my carry on bag.

but in the beginning- of a new year- everything is different.  different.  just like last year at this time.

goodbye, and hello,

jenny

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

