Skip to content

different like me

November 8, 2012

i’ll be honest.  i voted for mitt romney and paul ryan.  in the district of columbia- a city where we all work for the man/soak up happy hour specials at the same bars/live in the same gentrified neighborhoods/complain about commuting and road blockages because the president wants a burger- that makes me different.  i am one of the 7% of d.c. voters who cast her ballot for the republican challengers.  one of 17,337 residents standing out from the 222,332 who favored the incumbent.

i’m sure that some of my female friends or gay friends or obamacare-loving friends think i’ve lost it.  but what i’m not sure of is how to balance my small government/fiscal conservativeness/american pride with my social values.  can you be a republican woman who believes government shouldn’t follow you into the free clinic?  can i vote conservative while refusing to let government interfere in who my neighbor marries?  that’s what was going through my numb skull as i picked up that number 2 pencil and bubbled in the scantron next to romney/ryan on tuesday.

i was raised republican.  my mom cried when she shook george bush’s hand.  but beyond being raised republican, i was raised by two parents who worked very hard to make sure me and my sister could live the life we wanted.  my mom and dad both worked until i was born.  my dad worked for others and then, after the collapse of a company he worked for, he went out on his own.  both my grandmothers worked.  i went to public schools.  i marched in the memorial day parade.  i was forced to get a job when i was in high school to pay for my wants.  i was raised to love everyone.  and to give what i could, when i could, to those who needed it.

i don’t think this makes me the evil, woman-hating, homophobic dolt that i’ve been made to feel.  i know, i know.  twitter and facebook feeds should not enter into my valuation of whether i’m a good person.  and i make some inflammatory remarks too, i’m positive of it.  but i can’t help but feel a little bruised and battered after reading what some of my friends and acquaintances have accused of all republicans.

it’s an ugly game.  and i’m glad the election is over.  until the battle wages once more, i will wrestle with my questions raised.  i have a feeling it can’t be one or the other.  voting isn’t black or white.  red or blue.  it’s about doing what you think is right…or left.  even if that makes you and 17,336 of your friends different.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2012 3:38 pm

    Reblogged this on Tidbits of My Life and commented:
    I honestly could not have said this better myself. I wish more people could think like this.

    • ratzrow permalink*
      November 10, 2012 3:53 pm

      we’ve got four years to work on it!

  2. Emily permalink
    November 8, 2012 9:31 pm

    My thoughts exactly. This is (and running) why we get along so well!

    • ratzrow permalink*
      November 10, 2012 3:53 pm

      i was looking through pictures of the victoria’s secret fashion show, wishing you were there to critique the models with me. we certainly think alike!

Leave a Reply

