Skip to content

identity crisis

April 2, 2012

someone stole me last week.

i woke up to a phone call from my bank on friday morning alerting me that they noticed some “suspicious” charges on my mastercard.  while i was nestled in my bed in washington, d.c., someone was on a spending spree at a walmart in north carolina where they used my money to foot their $200 bill.  i felt used, vulnerable, sad and angry.  but it turns out i’m not alone.

there are, according to this article, 1.5 million other used, vulnerable, sad and angry people out there.

i would say i’d buy everyone a cupcake, but thanks to that $200 shopping spree i’m on credit card lockdown.  used, vulnerable, sad, angry…and cupcake-less.

sad, sad day.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. cleverasaquirk permalink
    April 3, 2012 2:41 pm

    BOOO!!! This happened to me last year …except for $2000 😦 People are so rude. But you’re mother is right, people do want to be you!

  2. cleverasaquirk permalink
    April 3, 2012 2:42 pm

    Your mother is right, people do want to be you, but it’s so rude to go ahead with out asking your permission!
    This same scenario happened to me last year when we were in Lisbon. Some CA folk got ahold of my debit numbers and used it to take out $2000 in cash. It was awful!

  3. cleverasaquirk permalink
    April 3, 2012 2:43 pm

    just realized that it actually did comment the first time. does a third comment make me suspect for wanting to be you? 😉 hahaha

Leave a Reply

