Skip to content

something(s)

February 16, 2012

there are some things you need to know about me.

for instance, that’s what the palm of my hand looks like.  don’t make me mad or you’ll see it up close and personal.  not really.

also.  why do i have a double chin in that picture above?  chin exercises.  stat.

i have three loads of clean laundry just hangin’ out, waiting to be sorted.  i’m just waiting for them to go away.  we’ll see who wins.

my favorite color is sparkle (or emerald), i think it’s absurd that jay z and beyonce are trying to trademark their baby’s name and my vacuum isn’t working but i vacuumed anyway this morning.

my building’s cleaning lady sings and sometimes i have impromptu dance parties in my office.  i got a fun, part-time job at a boutique in georgetown for the fun, friends and the discount.  i believe in midmorning snacks.  i believe in frosted animal crackers for midmorning snack.

i’m in a relationship on facebook.  life’s just hunky dory.

and i may or may not have a carrot cake in the oven right now.

it is done.

that’s right.  a carrot cake.  full of carrots and pineapple and walnuts and coconut (because mom and i agree that carrot cake just isn’t carrot cake without coconut).  and when this bad boy is done baking my tummy is going to be full of carrot cake because it dawned on me yesterday, between my homemade pizza dough and from-scratch fruit crumble, that lent is less than a week away.  now is officially the time to panic.

in 6 days, i won’t be able to hover over the ice cream container, spoon in hand, and show it who’s boss.  in 6 days, i won’t be able to call frosted animal crackers a midmorning snack.  in 6 days, i won’t be able to eat only hershey’s kisses for lunch because it’s a holiday.  in 6 days, i’ll give up sweets.

there are some things you need to know about me.

in 6 days, i won’t be a very happy person.  (i’m sorry jesus, i know this is all about you and sacrifice)

but in 46 days, i’ll pick up right where i left off.  with a cake in the oven and a spoon in my hand and three loads of laundry just waiting to be sorted.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2012 9:00 pm

    1- I really thought I was looking at GWENETH in this picture. You know, Paltrow??? Anywhoo, I about died laughing when I imagined you hunched over the ice cream about to “show it who’s boss”. Eat up girl!!

    • jratzel permalink
      February 17, 2012 3:18 am

      you make my life complete. ice cream it is!

  2. February 26, 2012 1:47 am

    That pic of you is adorable. There’s no such thing as chin fat when you’re laughing.

Leave a Reply

